jump to navigation

Legacy 2010/10/26

Posted by Leah Guarin in Poetry 101.
Tags: , , , , ,
1 comment so far

He was a tyrant
In a four-cornered room of shelter
He was a dictator
His words reflect a dimension of power

He was never a scholar
Neither a rabbi nor a lawyer
But his teachings like a priest’s sermon
Paints a shed of light to life’s little lessons

He was a pauper, owns nothing but his name
A man of honor
An emblem of dignity
And a legend of decency

Looking back through the days of my childhood
His anguished voice made me understood
That I should always wait and take my time
And never rush on things that aren’t mine

At times, his silence was deafening
But still he made me understood
That a person can’t easily go on living
Without keeping a heart that is forgiving

I learned to forgive and also to forget
Those people who had caused all my regrets
Thank you very much for teaching me
Ways on how to set my burdens free

Deep in my heart you will always be
Not just a memory but a very special part of me
Your journey through life will forever be
An unspoken code of great legacy

* In memoriam of my grandfather, Daniel F. Aquino
   10/24/1999

Things to do today 2010/10/26

Posted by Leah Guarin in Random Thoughts.
Tags: , , , , ,
add a comment

Our expectations are not always founded in logic or reason but more in what we think we have to do to be happy. What does it take to be happy? What does being happy means? Hmmm, sorry to disappoint you guys, I still haven’t found the formula — like most of you, I am still trying to find the balance.

So until the formula to happiness is found, here’s what I’d do: